Back-pass rule

In association football, the back-pass rule prohibits the goalkeeper from handling the ball in most cases when it is passed to them by a teammate.

Despite the popular name "back-pass rule", there is no requirement in the laws that the kick or throw-in must be backwards; handling by the goalkeeper is forbidden regardless of the direction the ball travels.

[2][3] The United States Soccer Federation (USSF) has provided the following guidance to goalies about when they cannot use their hands on the ball in the penalty area: The offense rests on three events occurring in the following sequence: When, in the opinion of the referee, these three conditions are met, the violation has occurred.

[6] During that tournament, in the Republic of Ireland versus Egypt match, Irish goalkeeper Packie Bonner held the ball for nearly six minutes.

[9] In 1997, the back-pass rule was extended to prevent goalkeepers handling the ball when received directly from a team-mate's throw in.