Gimme (golf)

In golf, a gimme is a shot that the other players agree can count automatically without being played.

When a player has only a very short putt left to play, other players may grant a gimme (i.e., one stroke is counted), but the ball is not played.

A gimme is a time-saving convention under the tacit assumption that the putt would not have been missed, e.g., when the ball is within a few inches of the hole.

Gimmes are not allowed by the rules in stroke play, though the practice is common in casual matches.

A player in match play will generally concede a tap-in or other short putt by his or her opponent.

A ball position that would be eligible for a 'gimme' in a casual match